Our Curriculum

The Department of Education has issued a statutory Framework for Nursery settings, known as the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). The EYFS is the period from birth to the end of a child’s first year at school.

The EYFS framework sets the UK standards for learning, development and care of young children from birth to five and is built around four principles:

To give you a basic understand of the four principles, we have attempted to explain them below:

A Unique Child

At Rainbow Nursery we focus on how children develop; we recognise they are all different, but should be treated equally. Positive relationships and good communication are vital. Children need to learn about risks and safety, how to make good choices and how to stick to boundaries. We make every attempt to provide full opportunity for each child to do their best and we achieve this by ensuring their physical and emotional needs are met during their time at our nursery setting.

Positive Relationships

The theme is about children learning to manage their feelings and build relationships. We respect all kinds of families and aim to develop a positive two-way relationship with parents. We will support, listen and work with the children at Rainbow Nursery to help them learn. We have a nominated key worker for each child at Rainbow Nursery to ensure each child has the opportunity of building a close relationship and is well monitored during their time with us.

Enabling Environments

We plan and check on each child’s progress and make every attempt to involve parents and the local community. We ensure that inside and outside spaces of the nursery are safe, interesting and engaging. Our nursery nurses support children when they move on, working as a team to help children succeed.

Learning and Development

Rainbow Nursery focuses on ensuring young children learn through play and exploration, with support for each individual. We encourage children to develop imagination, to get actively involved in learning and to make decisions. We make every attempt to develop children’s creative and critical thinking, balancing the need for both the children and adults to lead the learning.

The framework includes ongoing observation and assessment. Parents are kept informed of the development of their child’s progress within the four principles the EYFS framework through regular dialogue with their child’s key worker and through the individual development folder of each child.

The framework itself consists of the following 7 areas of learning, development and care, these are split into 3 prime areas and 4 specific areas:

Prime Areas:

Specific Areas:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development:

To support children to develop a positive sense of themselves and others. To form positive relationships and social skills and to learn to manage their feelings. Have confidence and understand appropriate behaviour in groups.

Communication and Language:

Development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves and encouragement in listening and speaking in a range of situations.

Physical Development:

Activities to support children in becoming active and to develop their co-ordination, control and movement. Children are helped to understand the importance of exercise and making healthy food choices.


Development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children should be able to read a wide range of reading resources to ignite their interests.


Providing children with opportunities through play to develop and improve counting skills, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, space and measures.

Understanding the World:

Providing the children to make sense of the physical world and their community through opportunities to observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.

Expressive Arts and Design:

Children to explore and engage in a wide range of media and materials. To express themselves through thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.

For more detailed information about the EYFS framework, please visit the Department for Education website.