Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) looks to improving life chances for all children, by giving them the opportunity to have the best possible start in life, with support so that they can fulfil their potential. The EYFS is designed to deliver improved outcomes for all children, across every area of learning and development.

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children from birth to achieve the 5 Every Child Matters Outcomes of staying safe, being healthy, enjoying and achieving, making a positive contribution and achieving economic well-being by:

  • Setting the standards for learning, development and care, ensuring that no child gets left behind.
  • Providing for equality of opportunity and anti-discriminatory practice and ensuring that every child is included.
  • Creating the framework for partnership working between parents, professionals and all settings that a child attends.
  • Improving quality and consistency through a universal set of standards.
  • Laying a secure foundation for future learning through learning and development that is planned around the individual needs and interests of the child, and informed by the use of ongoing observational assessment.

The EYFS is based around four Themes.  Each Theme is linked to an important Principle:

A Unique Child  Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships  Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments  The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development  Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

Each Principle is supported by four Commitments.  The Commitments describe how the Principles can be put into practice.

As part of the EYFS, child development is categorised into three prime areas and four specific areas (birth to 11 months, 8 to 20 months, 16 to 26 months, 22 to 36 months, 30 to 50 months and 40 to 60+ months).

At Rainbow Nursery, we provide a flexible system that fosters and supports children’s development from birth, where they can interact with practitioners that are appropriately trained and experienced; in environments that are safe, caring and loving.  The approach of our nursery practitioners is age appropriate, ensuring that there are different activities for children of different ages and at different stages of their development.  Practitioners carefully observe the children in their care; consider their needs, their interests and their stages of development to help them plan challenging and enjoyable experiences across the 7 areas of learning.  These areas are:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Communication, Language
  • Physical Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Art and Design

We ensure that all 7 areas are delivered through ‘in the moment planning’ and purposeful play, with a balance of adult-led and child-initiated activities.

Through the EYFS, parents can feel secure knowing that we will encourage children to progress at a pace that’s right for them as individuals, taking account of any particular needs they may have, with the ultimate aim being that all children will achieve their full potential with most children achieving the early learning goals by the end of the academic year in which they reach the age of 5.  Development files of children’s progress are kept throughout their time at Rainbow Nursery.

For young children, care and learning are indistinguishable.  Care cannot be considered to be of good quality unless it provides opportunities for children to learn and develop. Learning cannot be considered to be of good quality unless it is provided within an environment where all children feel safe, secure and included.  Our ultimate aim is ‘quality’ throughout all areas of our practice and provision.

Following observation and assessment, we will provide a framework that delivers learning and development experiences, tailored according to each child’s age and stage of development. Well-planned play and high quality continuous provision will continue to be central to children’s development and learning, ensuring that learning is both challenging and fun.

Two Year Old Check

Practitioners will provide parents with assessment for their 2 year old with the health visitor. This will support the key person’s knowledge on the individuals overall development and specifically in the 3 prime areas.

Register Your Little Loved One With Us Today!

Rainbow Nursery
Rainbow Preschool